State rules

Can you sell backyard eggs in South Australia?

Yes. With 50 or fewer laying birds selling only straight to consumers, you need no PIRSA accreditation, but farm-gate sellers notify their council and stamp each egg. Markets, shops or more birds need accreditation.

Read from 8 official sources32 passages quotedChecked October 7, 2026

At a glance

Licence

Depends how you sell

Small-flock line

50 birds or fewer, direct sales

Farmers markets

Licence needed

Cartons

Not stated

In plain English

South Australia's egg food safety scheme, run by PIRSA, requires accreditation for every egg production business except a 'small egg production business': one with no more than 50 laying birds that does not sell eggs to a food business, to another egg producer, at a market or by wholesale. A small producer selling straight to consumers therefore needs no accreditation or PIRSA fee, but still must comply with the national egg standard, which PIRSA summarises as removing cracked or dirty eggs from sale, keeping a food safety management statement, being able to trace where eggs went, and stamping each egg with a unique identification. Separately, SA Health says farm-gate sales are direct-to-public sales covered by the Food Act, so the seller must lodge a free food business notification with the local council before starting. Selling at any market, to any shop, cafe or other food business, or by wholesale requires PIRSA accreditation whatever the flock size, as does keeping more than 50 laying birds: a $646 accreditation fee plus an annual fee ($264 under 1,000 hens), an approved food safety arrangement and a property identification code. Giving eggs to friends and family needs no accreditation.

A sourced reading of South Australia's rules, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with Department of Primary Industries and Regions South Australia (PIRSA) ((08) 8429 0867) before you sell.

Do you need a licence?

Depends on how and how much you sell50 birds or fewer, direct sales
  • No more than 50 egg-laying birds.Primary Produce (Food Safety Schemes) (Egg) Regulations 2012 reg 3
  • No sales to a food business, to another egg production business, at a market, or by wholesale.reg 3
  • Meeting both conditions makes it a small egg production business, which needs no accreditation.reg 7
  • Every egg production business, small or not, must comply with Standard 4.2.5 for eggs intended for sale.reg 5
  • Under Standard 4.2.5, PIRSA says producers must remove cracked or dirty eggs from sale, keep a food safety management statement, be able to trace where eggs are sold, and put a unique identification stamp on each egg.PIRSA eggs page; Standard 4.2.5 cll 10, 11
  • Farm-gate sales are direct-to-public sales under the Food Act: lodge a food business notification with the local council before starting; there is no fee.Food Act 2001 ss 7(2)(c), 86; SA Health
  • Giving eggs to friends and family needs no accreditation.PIRSA eggs page
  • Otherwise: PIRSA accreditation ($646, plus an annual fee from $264 for fewer than 1,000 hens), an approved food safety arrangement, and a property identification code.regs 7, 9; PIRSA eggs page
The exact wording
“small egg production business means an egg production business that does not involve either— (a) more than 50 egg-laying birds; or (b) the sale of eggs in any of the following circumstances: … (i) the sale of eggs to a food business within the meaning of the Food Act 2001; (ii) the sale of eggs to an egg production business; (iii) the sale of eggs at a market; (iv) the sale of eggs by wholesale;”

Where you can sell

From home or the farm

With conditions

With 50 or fewer laying birds and no market, shop or wholesale sales, no PIRSA accreditation is needed. SA Health counts farm-gate sales as a food business under the Food Act, so notify your local council first (no fee). Stamp each egg and keep cracked or dirty eggs out of sale. Over 50 birds, accreditation applies even for gate sales.

Farmers markets

Licence needed

PIRSA requires accreditation to sell eggs at any market, including farmers' markets, regardless of flock size: $646 to apply, an annual fee from $264, an approved food safety arrangement and a property identification code. The regulation's small-producer exemption excludes any sale at a market.

Stores and restaurants

Licence needed

Selling to a food business (PIRSA names supermarkets, cafes, hotels and bakeries), to another egg producer, or by wholesale requires PIRSA accreditation regardless of flock size.

Also check with: Your local council (free food business notification before farm-gate sales)

Cartons, labels and handling

Cartons

The sources we read don't set a carton rule.

Refrigeration

Not stated in the sources we read.

The label must show

  • Each egg stamped with the producer's unique identification

Grading

Not stated in the sources we read.

South Australia's egg regulations set no grading requirement. The national standard bars selling cracked or dirty eggs.

Washing

Not stated in the sources we read.

National rules apply on top of South Australia's: Australia's national egg standard. Pricing your dozen? The egg price calculator works it out from your feed bill.

Common questions

Do I need a licence to sell eggs from my backyard chickens in South Australia?
Yes. With 50 or fewer laying birds selling only straight to consumers, you need no PIRSA accreditation, but farm-gate sellers notify their council and stamp each egg. Markets, shops or more birds need accreditation. Small-flock line: 50 birds or fewer, direct sales. The conditions, and the law they come from, are on this page.
Can I sell eggs at a farmers market in South Australia?
Needs a license or isn't exempt. PIRSA requires accreditation to sell eggs at any market, including farmers' markets, regardless of flock size: $646 to apply, an annual fee from $264, an approved food safety arrangement and a property identification code. The regulation's small-producer exemption excludes any sale at a market. Also check with your local council (free food business notification before farm-gate sales).
Can I reuse egg cartons in South Australia?
The sources we read do not say; ask Department of Primary Industries and Regions South Australia (PIRSA) before reusing cartons for eggs you sell.
What has to be on the carton label in South Australia?
Each egg stamped with the producer's unique identification. The rule reads: "An egg producer must not sell eggs unless each individual egg is marked with the producers’ unique identification."
Sources
Read the 32 passages this page is built on
What we couldn't confirm
  • legislation.sa.gov.au and pir.sa.gov.au returned a Cloudflare challenge (HTTP 403) to scripted downloads on 2026-10-07. The egg regulations, the Primary Produce (Food Safety Schemes) Act and the Food Act were read in a browser from the register's current RTF versions (the register marks RTF as not the authorised format; the authorised PDF is the same version), and the PIRSA eggs page was read in a browser. Their quotes are in south-australia.blocked.json. A browser attempt to open PIRSA's accreditation application PDF triggered a file download prompt instead and was not retried; the form was not read.
  • The egg regulations are due to expire on 1 September 2027 (expiry postponed from 1 September 2023 under the Legislative Instruments Act 1978). The date of the postponement was not found. Replacement regulations may change the 50-bird line; recheck before September 2027.
  • No source says how an unaccredited small producer obtains the unique identification (egg stamp) that Standard 4.2.5 requires, or whether PIRSA registers small producers' codes. PIRSA's page lists the stamp as a Standard 4.2.5 requirement for egg producers generally.
  • PIRSA lists a 'maintained food safety management statement' among Standard 4.2.5 requirements for all egg producers; the regulations require an approved food safety arrangement only of accredited producers. Whether small producers must document or submit a statement is not stated.
  • Council notification for farm-gate sales rests on SA Health's guidance and the Food Act's definitions; SA Health does not mention eggs specifically in the farm-gate example. Notification is free, but councils may charge inspection fees.
  • Sales to consumers away from the farm but not at a market (for example home delivery) are not addressed by PIRSA; the regulation's wording would treat them as allowed for a small egg production business.
  • Not found or not read: any SA rule on temperature, washing or carton reuse for shell eggs; Food Standards Code labelling standards; SA Health's Food Business Risk Classification; Food Regulations 2017 (SA).
  • Currency: egg regulations version 1.7.2020 (last varied by 183/2020, a fees change); Primary Produce (Food Safety Schemes) Act version 14.12.2017; Food Act version 4.12.2025 (amended by the Statutes Amendment (Health and Wellbeing) Act 2025, which changed analyst and administrative provisions, not egg or notification rules). The SA Parliament bills site was not searched for 2024-2026 egg bills. PIRSA's eggs page was updated 24 Aug 2026; what changed was not identified.
  • National change pending: FSANZ's P1060 variation to Standard 4.2.5 was gazetted on 4 December 2025 and commences 18 months after gazettal; see the Australia national page. The Standard 4.2.5 quotes here are from the current compilation (as at 29 November 2018).

Elsewhere in Australia

No licence for small salesDepends how you sellRegistration or licenceNot stated or not checked

All of Australia

Coloured by the small-flock licence rule, with the rules that apply everywhere in Australia.

Australia overview →

Legal where you live? Then keep the books.

PoultryPal's sales ledger tracks customers, dozens and payments next to your feed costs, so you know your margin and not just your egg count. Premium includes financial tracking and the sales ledger. Free to download on iOS and Android.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play